Hire An MPP, Student Profiles

Lauren Faulkner: Experienced Survey Researcher

A few months from now, Michigan State University’s second-year cohort of Master of Public Policy students will be graduating. These 15 individuals bring a wealth of experience, knowledge, and passion to put the skills they’ve acquired to use. We’re posting profiles of all our soon-to-be graduates so you can get to know them—and maybe find the next addition to your firm or organization!

Lauren (2)Name: Lauren Faulkner

Ideal Job Location(s): Short-term: Lansing, Michigan; open to working in other states.

Areas of Interest: Survey research

Academic Training: Lauren is part of MSU’s linked BA-MPP program. She decided to do the five-year program, which combines an undergraduate degree in Public Policy and an MPP, because, she says, “I have a passion for policies that help improve the lives of people. I wanted to take the extra step and push myself so that not only will I receive a higher education, but I also want to take the knowledge that I have learned and apply it to real-world situations and hopefully make a difference someday.”

Lauren’s favorite course in the program was Program Evaluation.  “I felt that this class really tied together a lot of the material we have learned in the program and gave an opportunity to apply it,” she says. “My studies in statistical analysis have also aided me in taking survey data and report results,” she notes.

Professional Experience: Lauren was hired four years ago by MSU’s Office for Survey Research. “It’s one of the best things that could have happened to me,” she says. Lauren began as a telephone interviewer and worked her way up to a Lab Manager position, and then to Assistant Project Manager, her current position.

“I have wonderful co-workers and an amazing Director that have mentored me and took the extra time to teach me valuable skills that I will need to know when I graduate and begin my search for a full-time position,” Lauren says.

Working with OSR has helped her develop management and “people” skills as well as technical skills, such as using the CASES (Computer-Assisted Survey Execution System) programming language, using CATI (Computer-Assisted Telephone Instrument) for collecting data, and using Qualtrics to program Web surveys.

You can connect with Lauren on LinkedIn at: https://www.linkedin.com/in/faulkn39

Standard

2 thoughts on “Lauren Faulkner: Experienced Survey Researcher

  1. Pingback: Meet Our 2016 Cohort—and Maybe Your Next Hire! | Master of Public Policy at MSU

Leave a Reply

